Breaking News.
Date : May 24, 2024

World Cup 2022: Injured Sadio Mane yet to join Senegal in Qatar ahead of tournament

World Cup 2022: Injured Sadio Mane yet to join Senegal in Qatar ahead of tournament

Bayern Munich striker Sadio Mane is yet to join the Senegal squad in Qatar ahead of the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

The African champions touched down in the Arab country earlier this morning to begin preparations for the tournament.

Several players are presently in camp with the likes of Nampalys Mendy, Edouard Mendy, Kalidou Koulibaly, Ismaila Sarr and Iliman Ndiaye all spotted.

Mane suffered an injury in Bayern Munich’s 6-1 victory over Werder Bremen and was replaced in the 15th minute by Leroy Sane after going down and headed straight down the tunnel for further treatment after being substituted.

He is a key cog of Aliou Cissé’s side, who face the Netherlands in their opening Group A game on November 21 before taking on hosts Qatar, then Ecuador at the World Cup.

Mane scored Senegal’s winning penalty in the shootout victory over Egypt to clinch their first Africa Cup of Nations title earlier this year.

The former Liverpool player is reported to be suffering from a tendon and is expected to be on the sidelines for several weeks.

The global showpiece is scheduled for Qatar from November 20 – December 18, 2022.

Below is Senegal full squad for the 2022 World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Seny Dieng (Queens Park Rangers), Alfred Gomis (Rennes), Edouard Mendy (Chelsea).

Defenders: Fode Ballo-Toure (AC Milan), Pape Abdou Cisse (Olympiakos), Abdou Diallo (RB Leipzig), Ismail Jakobs (Monaco), Kalidou Koulibaly (Chelsea), Formose Mendy (Amiens), Youssouf Sabaly (Real Betis).

Midfielders: Pathe Ciss (Rayo Vallecano), Krepin Diatta (Monaco), Idrissa Gana Gueye (Everton), Pape Gueye (Marseille), Cheikhou Kouyate (Nottingham Forest), Mamadou Loum Ndiaye (Reading), Nampalys Mendy (Leicester City), Moustapha Name (Pafos), Pape Matar Sarr (Tottenham Hotspur).

Forwards: Boulaye Dia (Salernitana), Famara Diedhiou (Alanyaspor), Bamba Dieng (Marseille), Nicolas Jackson (Villarreal), Sadio Mane (Bayern Munich), Iliman Ndiaye (Sheffield United), Ismaila Sarr (Watford).

Leave a Reply